Grants and Awards

FNNR provides mini-grants to researchers, conference travel awards for students, and selects the recipient of the BrainMaster Technologies Joe Kamiya First-Person Science Award.

FNNR Mini-Grant
$2,500 grant available for students
Apply for the FNNR Mini Grant HERE

Bio-Medical Mini-Grant
$3,000 grant available for students
Apply for the BioMedical Mini Grant HERE

Clinical Researcher Grant
$3,000 available to clinical researchers
Apply for the Clinical Researcher Grant HERE

Mini-Grant Winners

2022 Mini-Grant Winners

Bio-Medical sponsored FNNR mini-grant
Faryal Raees
,  post-graduate student at NED University of Engineering & Technology, Karachi, Pakistan
Title: “Comparison between Audiovisual and Visual Beta Neurofeedback for Attention Enhancement”

FNNR mini-grant
Dr. Rubén Pérez-Elvira, Salamanca University, Spain
Title:  “Pulsed EMF stimulation induced EEG changes”

Andrea Reid-Chung,  ADD Centre, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Title: “Virtual Neurofeedback: An analysis of effectiveness”

2021 Mini-Grant Winners

Bio-Medical sponsored FNNR mini-grant
Mohammad  Sendi
, PhD student at Georgia Institute of Technology and Emory University, Atlanta, GA
Title: “Modeling the Effect of TMS on EEG Signal in PTSD Patients”
Advisors: Drs. Sanne van Rooij and Jeffrey Malins

FNNR mini-grant
Jessica Claire Gregory, PhD student,  The University of Texas at San Antonio
Title:  “Neurofeedback Treatment of Alcohol Use Disorder and Liver Disease”
Advisor: Dr. Mark Jones

2020 Mini-Grant Winner

Peiyuan “Boki” Wang, Arizona State University, AZ
Title: “Frontoparietal Coherence as EEG-neurofeedback Training Target for Enhancing Motor Learning”
Mentors: Dr. Sydney Schaefer, Dr. Sarah Wyckoff (Arizona State University, AZ)

2019 Mini-Grant Winner

Jessica Claire Gregory, University of Texas, San Antonio, TX
Title: “Predictors of Neurofeedback Outcomes Following qEEG Individualized Protocols for Anxiety”
Mentors: Dr. Mark Jones (University of Texas, San Antonio, TX)
Claire Gregory’s paper, “Predictors of Neurofeedback Outcomes Following qEEG Individualized Protocols for Anxiety ,” was published HERE in Neuroregulation in 2020.

2019 Mini-Grant Winner

Rajnish Kumar Gupta, PhD post-doc, National Institute of Mental Health & Neuro Sciences (NIMHANS), Bengaluru, India
Title: “TBI Rehabilitation: The Efficacy of EEG-Neurofeedback Training and its neuroimaging correlates: A comparative study”
Mentor:  Dr. Jamuna Rajeswaran (National Institute of Mental Health & Neuro Sciences – NIMHANS)
Dr. Gupta’s paper, “Effect of EEG Neurofeedback Training in Patients with Moderate-Severe Traumatic Brain Injury: A Clinical and Electrophysiological Outcome Study,” was published HERE in Neuroregulation in 2020.

2018 Mini-Grant Winner

Michelle E. Roley-Roberts, PhD post-doc, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
Title: “Pilot Trial of Neurofeedback for Adolescents with PTSD”
Mentors: Dr. Gene Arnold (The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH) and Dr. Roger deBeus (University of North Carolina Asheville, NC)

2017 Mini-Grant Winners

Ashlie Bell, PhD candidate, Saybrook University, Oakland, CA
Title: “Treating PTSD with LORETA Z-score neurofeedback and heart rate variability biofeedback”
Mentor: Dr. Donald Moss (College of Integrative Medicine and Health Sciences, Saybrook University, CA)
Ashlie Bell’s paper, “Healing the Neurophysiological Roots of Trauma: A Controlled Study Examining LORETA Z-Score Neurofeedback and HRV Biofeedback for Chronic PTSD,” was published here in Neuroregulation on 6-26-2019.

Linda Larson Spagon, PhD candidate, Idaho State University, Pocatello, Idaho
Title: “Neurofeedback treatment in response to males arrested for domestic violence: A pilot study”
Mentor: Dr. Karen Neil (School of Nursing, Idaho State University Pocatello, ID)

2015 Mini-Grant Winners

Ann Webb and Liza Barros Lane, PhD candidates, University of Houston, Houston, TX
Title: “The effect of neurofeedback intervention on academic and behavioral successes”
Mentor: Dr. Monit Cheung (College of Social Work, University of Houston, TX)

Robert Guiles, MS, Joint FERB-FNNR grant
Title: “Psychophysiological markers of trauma: Investigating the absence of vagal brake in veterans with a history of interpersonal trauma”
Mentor: Richard Gevirtz, Ph.D. (Alliant International University/ California School of Professional Psychology, San Diego, CA)
Full text

2014 Mini-Grant Winners

Matthew S. Goodman, graduate student, Joint FERB-FNNR grant
Title: “The combined effects of neurofeedback and biofeedback training for treating children with autism spectrum disorder”
Mentors: Dr. Jaime A. Pineda (University of California, San Diego, CA), Dr. Richard Gevirtz (Alliant University, San Diego, CA)
Full text

Sommer Christie, PhD Candidate, University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Title: “The Effect of Biofeedback and Neurofeedback Training on Shooting Performance in Young Ice-Hockey Players”
Mentor: Kinesiology Faculty, University of Calgary, Canada
Full text

Markus Rogan, graduate student at Antioch University, LA: Masters in Clinical Psychology; Max Sutton-Smolin, BA, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL
Title: “Exploring the effects of neurofeedback and mindfulness training on cognitive and vestibular functioning in elite athletes”
Mentor: Leslie Sherlin, Ph.D. (SenseLabs, Mesa, AZ), Faculty Advisor: Michelle Craske, Ph.D. (University of California, LA, CA)

2013 Mini-Grant Winner

Elizabeth Friedrich, PhD, post-doc fellow, University of California, San Diego, (Jay Gunkelman named grant winner)
Title: “Increase of appropriate behavior, cognition and emotions in social situations for children with autism spectrum disorder.”
Mentor: Dr. J. Pineda. (University of California, San Diego, CA)
Full text 1
Full text 2
Full text 3

2012 Mini-Grant Winners

Jeffry La Marca, MA, PhD Student, University of California, Riverside
Title: “Neurofeedback as an Intervention to Improve Reading Achievement in Students with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, Inattentive Subtype”
Mentor: Dr. Michael Linden
Full text

Alycia Roberts, graduate student, University of South Carolina, Columbus, SC
Title: “Effects of neurofeedback on cognitive profiles of college students with ADHD”
Mentor: Dr. Scott Decker, University of South Carolina, Department of Psychology, Columbia, SC
Full text 1
Full text 2

BrainMaster Technologies Joe Kamiya First-Person Science Award Winners

2020 Recipient: Santiago Muñoz-Moldes, PhD

2019 Recipient: Ron Bonnstetter

2018 Recipient: Agnieska Zuberer

2017 Recipient: Jon Frederick, PhD 

2016 RecipientMark Johnson, PhD

2015 Recipient: Judson Brewer, MD, PhD

2014 Recipient: Patricia Norris, PhD

Gerald Gluck Travelship Award

2020 Recipient: Michael Z. Yonkovig, Masters student (Boston College, Boston, MA) for his project titled “In-school Neurofeedback for Adolescents with Developmental Trauma.”
Mentors: Dr. Scott Slotnick and Dr. Ainat Rogel

Conference Awards

In 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019 FNNR provided travel grants to the students presenting at the ISNR Conference.